History of OCAC-CA

The Orange County (CA) Alumnae Chapter (OCAC-CA) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., was chartered April 29, 1978 and introduced to the community later that year. Members of the Chapter are college graduates, representing all facets of professional life. The experiences of our members form a rich network which has a solid commitment to community service in the areas of: Educational Development, Economic Development, Physical & Mental Health, Political Awareness and Involvement, and International Awareness and Involvement.

In our Chapter’s thirty seven years of serving Orange County, California, we have provided over a quarter of a million dollars in scholarship awards to deserving students in addition to providing a myriad of exciting youth-focused programs. The Chapter also partners with local and national non-profits and charities to improve life for Orange County’s most needy. Today, OCAC has over sixty active members, 100% of which are registered voters.  In 2014, we introduced our inaugural Youth Program "Success for Teens" as part of our GEMS/EMBODI youth initiative and also partnered with 100 Black Men of Orange County to sponsor a Free Community Health Fair.  Members of our local chapter have also attended Delta Days in our Nation’s Capital, Delta Days at the UN, and Delta Days in Sacramento.  In May of 2015, OCAC-CA successfully sponsored our first ever Delta Days in Orange County with keynote speaker our 21st National President, Congresswoman Marcia L. Fudge.  We continue to strive to broaden our scope and impact by developing ongoing partnerships and programs that enrich our community.

Most importantly to our chapter is our bond of sisterhood.  We believe our relationships with one another are the glue that make working together in our community so successful.

Charter Members

Gloria Conley Bailey
Jennifer Jackson Barb
Glenda Masingale Manson
Margaret Bell Davis
Deborah Jackson Hoda
Patricia Machen James
Mildred Bryant Jones (Deceased)
Janice Williams Macon

Geneva Winfield McKamie
Sharon Egland Middleton
Ella Roberts Walker Nixon
Barbara Mosley Robinson (Deceased)
Carolyn Jennings Vallas
LaVerne Turner Walker
Mildred Logan Watson


For more information, visit our national website at www.deltasigmatheta.org

For more information, visit the Farwest Region's Website at www.dstfarwestregion.com